Sunday, January 11, 2009

Aroostook County Genealogical Society Elects New Officers

At their November 24, 2008, meeting, Aroostook County Genealogical Society elected the following officers for a two-year term:

President: Ann Cushman
Vice-President: Dennis Prue
Secretary: Linda Zapatka
Treasurer: E. J. Bullard
Trustee Board Members: Theresa Nicholson, Frank Labbe & Ken Keaton

Congratulations to the new incoming slate of officers!

ACGS' quip of the month: Only a genealogist regards a step backwards as progress.

Taconnett Falls Chapter to hold its Annual Party

Snow in December caused the postponement of Taconnett's Annual Party. It has been rescheduled for January 18, 2009. Plan to attend and bring something to share with everyone. The group meets at its' Taconnett Genealogical Library located on Lithgow Street in Winslow.

Newly elected officers for 2009 include: Fred Clark, President; Kent Sinclair, Vice-President; Laton Edwards, Treasurer; and Barbara Gunvaldsen, Secretary.

A quick view of their upcoming meetings:

Feb 15 2009 - Thelma Brooks discusses census and genealogical research

Mar 15 2009 - Carolyn Browne discusses how to prepare for a Genie Search in Norway

Apr 19 2009 - Jan Weymouth discusses how to join the Mayflower Society and Carolyn Kelley discusses how to join the DAR

May 17 2009 - Cheryl Willis Patten discusses unexpected resources

To learn more, visit their website at:

Memorial Service for Clayton Adams

A memorial service for Past-President Clayton Adams will be held on Saturday, Jan. 17, 2009, at 2 p.m. at St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 27 Pleasant St., Brunswick.

A complete obituary may be found at: